Finding the way through the Home maze

Home Forums General Newburgh Discussion Finding the way through the Home maze

Topic: Finding the way through the Home maze

General Newburgh Discussion December 3, 2017 at 11:04 am

Finding the way through the Home maze

Hello Everyone,

I’m looking at buying in Newburgh ( living in purchase)in 2018. I’m an artist, currently in Brooklyn who is familiar with Newburgh (my family having had property in Orange County most of my life) and I’m looking to bring my studio and residence to Newburgh, to become part of the community and be part of the wonderful things I’ve seen in person and here on this site happening.

I’m pretty sure that there must be at least one organization in town that helps guide the 1st time homebuyer and the revitalize Newburgh movement ( and maybe one for artists wanting to relocate there?). I’m hoping that you all here can give me a name or organization that I can reach out to so that I can start setting up meetings to gain more info.

Looking forward to 2018, becoming part of the community and moving my photography and ceramics practice/studio to Newburgh.

Any info will be of help – so thanks in advance!

7 Replies Add Reply

Hi! Welcome!

I wish there was an organization that was dedicated to helping transplants get settled in the city. It’s a bit hodge podge at the moment.

Pathstone is a good place to start. They have first time home buyer classes, and can help with down payment assistance if you attend the classes and meet income requirements. (845) 569-0770

Navigating Newburgh is a monthly group meeting right now that might be the most valuable in getting advice and direction. Go through the meeting minutes and you’ll see they address things like how to get a loan and what grants are available out there, especially for those in creative fields. Resource page has good info.

I have no idea what your financial situation is but I would suggest that you rent before