Community Planning and Heritage

Home Forums General Newburgh Discussion Community Planning and Heritage

Topic: Community Planning and Heritage

General Newburgh Discussion October 31, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Community Planning and Heritage

I am a city planning graduate student and I am writing my thesis on Newburgh and the intersection of heritage and planning. I am interested to know what community members think could be done in the city of Newburgh to better serve the community and connect with Newburgh’s heritage, especially in the next stage of waterfront development. I would love to know your thoughts…

7 Replies Add Reply

Prattgrad I’m an urban planning student too! Have you spoken to Johanna Porr yet? She is the director over at the Historical Society and this is part of what she’s trying to do.

So you’d like to know how community can connect with it’s heritage. By that you mean history? And how the waterfront development can be combined with this as well? A monumental task indeed!

I’m a relative newcomer to Newburgh, having moved up from Bklyn (near Pratt!). One of my fondest memories and introduction to the significance of Newburgh in our nation’s history was making a visit and meeting Johanna Porr, who, at the time, led tours of Washington’s Headquarters on Liberty St. (She is now the Director of the Historical Society located on Montgomery St.)

The intersection of heritage and planning…that’s an interesting place to put yourself, because grappling with preservation and progress can get intense at times.

I think another person you may want to meet is Paul Halayko. one of the owners of the recently opened Newburgh Brewery. He and his partners took great pains to preserve some of the elements of the 100 yr old box factory that is now the brewery, and salute the Purple Heart and the history of Newburgh in their products…