Is Newburgh Bouncing Back?

Home Forums General Newburgh Discussion Is Newburgh Bouncing Back?

Topic: Is Newburgh Bouncing Back?

General Newburgh Discussion April 9, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Is Newburgh Bouncing Back?

Hello,

I’m a graduate student at Columbia University and I’m interested in some of the public health issues in Newburgh such as lead contamination in housing. I see this problem as a consequence of various economic and social factors and so I’m trying to understand this issue from a broader context. I’ve heard about a lot of really amazing things happening in Newburgh such as the community garden and the Newburgh urban market, and I’m really interested in getting a a sense of how people feel Newburgh is doing. Obviously there are many problems such as high poverty and high crime, but is there a general sense that Newburgh is starting to come back? I’ve only visited Newburgh a few times, but it seems to me like many positive changes are happening, which is awesome because the city has so much to offer.

6 Replies Add Reply