NYC Commuters

Home Forums General Newburgh Discussion NYC Commuters

Topic: NYC Commuters

General Newburgh Discussion January 9, 2018 at 9:17 pm

NYC Commuters

Hi all,

I’m interested in relocating from New Jersey to Newburgh in 2018. I’m a freelancer with most of my ongoing gigs being in New York City. I’m looking to hear from people about the commute and if there are any tips/local tidbits I should be aware of ahead of time.

I know the Beacon train is probably the most popular option, but anyone out there utilize Shortline on a consistent basis? How packed is it at the 6a/7a/8a hour?

Does anyone drive to a park and ride to get to the city? Are there any that are particularly better than others?

Lastly, and only mildly related, are there any bikers out there who commute to public transit hubs via bicycle? How realistic is this in Newburgh and from what neighborhoods? It’s not a deal breaker, but the option would be nice.

Thanks for the insight!

– Caro

5 Replies Add Reply

Hey Caro,

Glad to hear you are thinking about Newburgh. My husband and I relocated to Newburgh after two years of Googling and visiting on weekends. We’re renting a place on Liberty Street while we go through the process of purchasing a home. I work in Hoboken, and my husband works in Midtown.

Newburgh is a long commute, no matter which way you structure it, although many do it on a daily basis. We spend 50% of our time in Newburgh, and when we are working late we stay in the city.

The Beacon train, along with the ferry, is a solid, albeit expensive option. There are express trains from Beacon to 125th street, and then down to Grand Central. Door to door, from our place on Liberty to Jon’s office on 34th street is around two hours. I drive 15 minutes to Salsbury Mills and take NJ Transit down to Hoboken. That takes an hour and twenty minutes. If you are going into Lower Manhattan, it’s a reasonable alternative via the PATH.